Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; plgContentJw_disqus has a deprecated constructor in /home/spiritofnewfoundland/spiritofnewfoundland.com/plugins/content/jw_disqus/jw_disqus.php on line 19
The Masonic Temple
Spirit of Newfoundland Productions is located in the historic Masonic Temple Building. This building has a magnificent history and architecture.
History of the Masonic Temple
This is the Masonic Temple, built 112 years ago by the political and business leaders of the day. It is an architectural gem that boasts four performance rooms, a massive pipe organ, pianos in every room, numerous historic Masonic symbols and plenty of mystery and intrigue to inspire great artistic and creative thought. The building is the headquarters of Spirit of Newfoundland, complete with dining rooms, full service bar, full commercial kitchen, rehearsal rooms, offices, dressing rooms, costume bank, prop and technical storage, and catering supply.
Significant notes about the Masonic Temple:
It is an architecturally stunning building positioned in a commanding spot overlooking many other heritage buildings in downtown St. John’s.
It is built under the watchful eye of Masons -- men who paid special attention to quality workmanship
The interior of the building has been beautifully maintained since it was constructed 111 years ago. Most of the heritage is untouched.
It is officially recognized as a City of St. John’s Heritage Building
Is home to an exquisite historic pipe organ which was purchased by the Masons with the help of donor John C. Crosbie, another famous son of Newfoundland and Labrador.
The Masonic Temple has cultural value as it is a physical reminder of a time when fraternal organizations played a significant role in the city of St. John's
It is officially recognized as the largest brick fraternal meeting hall in the province
Sir William Whiteway, the longest serving prime minister of the colony of Newfoundland, laid the building’s cornerstone which is still in place and holds a time capsule from 1897.
It has features reflective of the Classical Revival style, including three towers on front façade, pediments on towers, pilasters on towers, transom windows on side towers, columns and rounded arch on upper central tower, pilasters and rounded arch on upper central tower and heavy cornice belt course.
Its construction is equally impressive with features reflective of Victorian-era Masonic Lodge construction, including one storey Corinthian columns and capitals with globes on main entrance, original interior ornate woodwork, trim, detailing and plasterwork, original main staircase, Masonic symbols on centre tower, wording "Masonic Temple" on centre tower, plaque on left tower, interior Masonic decoration and insignia, repeated use of arch motif throughout the interior, layout of the upper floor lodge rooms, decorative bronze plaques, original cornerstone and time capsule. See Photos here
The Masonic Temple is currently under exterior renovation.
The photo below was taken prior to the Great Fire of 1892, coutesy of Memorial University's Archives. Note the Kirk in the lower right foreground which burned down (Now the site of the Casbah and Victoria Station). The Masonic Temple was built on the footprint of the sprawling bungalow next to the Kirk.